University Libraries: Composition and Rhetoric Studies: Articles

Ask a Librarian

Composition and Rhetoric Journals

Browse contents of the top Rhetoric and Composition journals to get a sense of current research, or select an individual journal to search for articles in.

College English
(1939 to four years ago in JSTOR; 2018-present in NCTE)
College Composition and Communication
(1950 to four years ago)
Computers and Composition
(1995 to present)
Composition Studies
(2004 to present)
Journal of Basic Writing
(2003 to present)
Research in the Teaching of English
(1967 to four years ago)
Rhetoric Review
(1982 to seven years ago)
Literacy in Composition Studies
(2013 to present)
Peitho
(2012 to present)
Kairos: A Journal of Rhetoric, Technology and Pedagogy
(1996 to present)
Enculturation
(1997 to present)
Reflections: A Journal of Community Engaged Writing and Rhetoric
(2012 or earlier to present)
Constellations: a Cultural Rhetorics Publishing Space
(2018-present)
Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society
(2011-present)

Find Articles

Library databases contain sources written from an interdisciplinary or complementary perspective.

Databases likely to yield a comprehensive picture of many rhetoric and composition topics are suggested here.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of quality journals scholarly publishers, including journals relating to composition and rhetoric.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text collection of journals and books, with many journals on composition and rhetoric. **Recent issues may not be available, usually a 1-6 year delay.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Search for full-text articles on topics including communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Composition and rhetoric topics are found in this large academic multidisciplinary database.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Articles on linguistics, literature, and other topics relating to research in English.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Students in English 649 may also want to search Education Research Complete, a library database which will include articles from Education journals on topics related to composition and rhetoric.

CompPile
A free collection that can be used to identify published works in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse studies. Find citations, then use the library resources to get to the full text.