University Libraries: ENGR 399: Integrated Science and Design: Article Search Engines

Article Search Engines

Scopus
Find articles in a wide range of science and technology, including all areas of engineering. Use the teal "Find Full Text" to see if we have full text immediately available.
IEEE Xplore
A wide range of engineering topics are including with IEEE. Most are available full text.
Environment Complete
A good source for environmentally-related topics.
Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Specific to engineering and applied science. Choose "trade journals" from the left toolbar after searching.
Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects from fine art to decorative and commercial art.

Depending on your topic, there might be better options that what is listed here. If you are having trouble finding appropriate journals, ask Eric for help.

If you find something that isn't available in full text, and you want a copy, e-mail Eric. The library can get you this article free of charge.

Preprints

Preprints are articles that are submitted to a certain website (server) for review by the broader community. These are NOT peer-reviewed, but give researchers a timely way to garner feedback on research, especially on hot and evolving topics. Many times preprints are turned into peer-reviewed articles, and maybe revised multiple times after initially posted.

arXiv.org
Open access papers (preprints) in physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Preprints are shared before the peer review process, and are not considered peer-reviewed articles.

Finding More from One Article

Once you have one good article you can easily find more related research:

Click on the Cited or Citing Sources link in an article database to find newer research that has cited the article.
Click on the References link in an article database to see the references that are cited in this specific article.
Click on the Author's Name to see other works from the author. Scopus will provide a more comprehensive author profile.
Look for Similar Articles at the bottom of the article information. Note that these are determined by algorithm and precision can vary. This means some articles here may be very pertinent to you, where others will not.