University Libraries: SOC 360: Environmental Sociology: Digital Archives

Digital Archives for Gullah Geechee History

Gullah Geechee Cultural Preservation Digital Project
"The Gullah Geechee Digital Project is a multi-year, multi-institution digitization and interpretation project that showcases the historic depth and contemporary diversity of the Gullah Geechee culture and people. Digitizing thousands of artifacts from plantation records to interviews conducted within the last two years. This first phase of the project focuses on five communities in South Carolina: Sandy Island, Plantersville, Murrells Inlet, Johns Island, and St. Helena Island."

more... less...

At CCU Alli Crandell (acrandell@coastal.edu) and Scott Bacon (sbacon@coastal.edu) would be good people to reach out to about the project.
Library of Congress Gullah/Geechee History and Culture Digital Collections
"The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with the Gullah/Geechee culture, including interviews, manuscripts, images, maps, and sound recordings."
Digital Library of Georgia
"The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life."
Lowcountry Digital Library
"Supporting research about the Lowcountry region of South Carolina and historically interconnected sites in the Atlantic World"
Horry County Archives Center Digital Repository
This digital repository contains collections from various colleges, departments and centers at Coastal Carolina University as well as collections held by local organizations, such as the Horry County Historical Society, and individuals.

Digital Archives: Library Databases

African American History

Provides reference book articles about people, organizations, and events in African American history; also features timelines, primary source materials, images, videos, and maps.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Parts 1 - 4

Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade. Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: The Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery: Part 4: Age of Emancipation
History Vault: Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War

History Vault’s collections on Slavery and Southern plantations candidly document the realities of slavery at the most immediate grassroots level in Southern society, providing some of the most revealing documentation in existence on the functioning of the slave system. Ledgers, correspondence, petitions, photographs, diaries, legal documents, and other materials illuminate this large and momentous chapter in history by documenting the far-reaching impact of slavery on plantations, the American South, and the nation.