University Libraries: SOC 360: Environmental Sociology: Local Resources

Horry County Archives Center

Horry County Archives Center

"Established by the Horry County Higher Education Commission in 2006, the Horry County Archives Center (HCAC) primarily focuses on researching the history of Horry County but also deals with five surrounding counties in the northeastern section of South Carolina that, along with Horry County, were once a part of the old Georgetown Judicial District which was established in 1769.

The Archives house University Libraries' long established "Waccamaw Collection," a collection of books dealing with the history of the Waccamaw River region, as well as microfilm copies of historic land documents, including colonial land grants and plats.

The collection is currently located in off-site storage. Contact the Director of HCAC, Ben Burroughs, for assistance with the collection.

Horry County Archives Center Digital Repository
This digital repository contains collections from various colleges, departments and centers at Coastal Carolina University as well as collections held by local organizations, such as the Horry County Historical Society, and individuals.

Horry County Resources

HCM - Home (Horry County Museum)
Focus on local history and local artists.
Horry County Historical Society
This society collects and provides access to documents related to the history of Horry County.
Lowcountry Digital Library
"Supporting research about the Lowcountry region of South Carolina and historically interconnected sites in the Atlantic World"
Gullah/Geechee Nation on Environmental Justice
The official website of the Gullah/Geechee Nation includes information about environmental justice.
Joyner Institute for Gullah and African Diaspora Studies
The Charles Joyner Institute for Gullah and African Diaspora Studies examines the historical migration and scattering of African populations to local geographical areas and the subsequent evolution of blended cultures, specifically Gullah. CCU’s location at the northern tip of the Gullah Geechee Cultural Heritage Corridor puts it in a unique position for diaspora study and research. The work of the institute provides students with experiential learning opportunities, both at home and abroad, that center on interconnections among local, national, and global peoples and their societies. The Institute is also a catalyst for community involvement.