University Libraries: HIST 451: History of Medicine and the Body: Digital Books

Ask a Librarian

Elizabeth Blackwell's "A Curious Herbal"
Digital edition from the British Library.
Transforming Vesalius
Extensive images from the newest translation of "De humani corporis fabrica".

Vaulted Treasures: Historical Medical Books
Vaulted Treasures: Historical Medical Books at the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library at the University of Virginia. Digitized editions are available here and through the Hathi Trust.
Hathi Trust
E-text of books, many are full-text with no restrictions. Excellent source for books published after conflicts prior to 1950. Largest collection is pre-1923. Search by topic or keyword to locate books. Also includes government reports.

Gerritsen Collection - Womens History Online, 1543-1945

Digital images of books, pamphlets, and periodicals covering the history of women, rights, suffrage, and feminism from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand.

Evans Early American Imprint Collection
Nearly 5000 digitized texts from the 17th and 18th century published in America and covering a wide variety of topics.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

More than 180,000 English-language and foreign-language books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects from the United Kingdom and the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
Early English Books Online

Contains scanned images of virtually every work printed in English in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America, and elsewhere from 1473-1700 – starting with the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the English Civil War.

National Library of Medicine: Medicine in the Americas
The collection includes materials related to all aspects of medicine in the Americas from 1610-1920.
Medical Heritage Library
"The MHL’s growing collection of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films number in the tens of thousands, with representative works from each of the past six centuries, all of which are available here through the Internet Archive."