University Libraries: COMM 491: Communication Capstone: Thesis: Measurement Instruments

Ask the Library

Library Databases and Websites for Locating Tests and Measures

Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
The Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) database identifies measurement tools relevant for investigations and explorations in the fields of medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication, sociology, and organizational behavior/human resources. Full-text of test questions is not provided, but information on locating tests is available.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Selection of psychological tests and measures, including actual test instruments and test items available for download and use in research and teaching.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes
"An index to 139 print compilations, web sites and other resources for test instruments with nearly 14,000 tests and measurements compiled from 1967 - 2013. This resource does not include the tests but indexes them in order to find them in other published resources. Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences was developed and is maintained by Helen Hough of the University of Texas at Arlington."

Ebooks about Communication Measurement Strategies

Researching Interactive Communication Behavior by C. Arthur VanLear (Editor); Daniel J. Canary (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781483303024
Publication Date: 2016-01-22
"This practical book provides students and experienced researchers with tools for studying communication behaviors through direct observation." Chapters include: observing relational conflict, observing family behavior, analyzing video and audio nonverbal dynamics, microanalysis of face-to-face dialogue, and more.
The Sourcebook of Nonverbal Measures by Valerie Lynn Manusov (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780805847468
Publication Date: 2004-09-23
"The Sourcebook of Nonverbal Measures provides a comprehensive discussion of research choices for investigating nonverbal phenomena. The volume presents many of the primary means by which researchers assess nonverbal cues."
Communication Research Measures II by Rebecca B. Rubin; Alan M. Rubin; Elizabeth E. Graham; Elizabeth M. Perse; David Seibold
ISBN: 9780203871539
Publication Date: 2010-04-26
Providing suggestions for measurement of concepts of interest to researchers; inspiring students to consider research directions not considered previously; and supplying models for scale developers to follow in terms of the work necessary to produce a valid and reliable measurement instrument in the discipline, the authors of this key resource have developed a significant contribution toward improving measurement and providing measures for better science.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by Mike Allen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483381435
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
"contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies."