Digital Diaries and Letters - History - US Civil War - University Libraries at Coastal Carolina University

Diaries, Letters, and More

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
A collection of American Civil War letters, diaries, memoirs and biographies written between 1855 and 1875. Covers the military, social, economic, and political aspects of the war.
Civil War in Words and Deeds This link opens in a new window
Diaries, memoirs, regimental histories, and other first-person accounts compiled in the postwar period and early 20th century, chronicling the highs and lows of army life. Dates of coverage: 1860-1865.
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War subcollection
Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army (1854-1870)
The Confederate Army records cover the perspective of an army commander or an administrative department down to the level of the private soldier, covering all aspects of their military service and experience, while also offering glimpses of life on the home front. The Union Army records include papers of spies, scouts, guides and detectives, including a series on Allan Pinkerton; records on military discipline from courts-martial, courts of inquiry and investigations by military commissions; and records of the U.S. Colored Troops.

South Carolina and the Civil War
From the collections at USC-Columbia libraries, Books, diaries, sheet music, maps, letters, photographs and illustrations all provide glimpses of everyday life during exceptional times.
The Civil War Collection at Michigan State University
Letters, newspaper articles, diaries, images and more from Michigan soldiers.
The Civil War Diaries at Penn State
Diaries from PA soldiers.
Civil War Diaries and Letters
University of Iowa collections of diaries, letters, and photographs.
Civil War Diaries and Letters Collection
Auburn University collection of diaries and letters.
Civil War on the Western Border: the Missouri-Kansas Conflict, 1855-1865
A collection of letters, diaries, photographs and other documents that document the conflict.
The Civil War: Women and the Homefront
Diaries and letters from Duke University Archives and links to other archival collections.
First Person Narratives of the American South
The voices of everyday people from memoirs, diaries, autobiographies, and ex-slave account.
Manuscripts of the American Civil War
Seven transcribed diaries that reflect both sides of the conflict.
Wisconsin Goes to War: Our Civil War Experience
Diaries, poetry, letters, and other writings of Wisconsin soldiers in the Civil War.