History - South Carolina

The Colonial State Papers provides access to manuscript papers and bibliographic records concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.

Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1

Original documents from South Carolina, Maryland, Virginia, Louisiana and Mississippi covering all aspects of plantation life in the late 1700's through Emancipation.

Primary source materials. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: The Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: Age of Emancipation. Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Information on slaving voyages between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries in database form. Search using year, ship name, owner(s), itinerary, captain, and more. (1501 - 1866).

Shows how the topics of slavery and secession were presented in Southern intellectual and literary culture in the early stages of the Civil War. Dates of coverage: 1834-1864.

Diaries, memoirs, regimental histories, and other first-person accounts compiled in the postwar period and early 20th century, chronicling the highs and lows of army life. Dates of coverage: 1860-1865.

Documents originated by the Justice Department and Federal Bureau of Investigation on operatives investigating politically suspect figures and organizations. Topics include A. Philip Randolph, the Black Panther Party of NC, the Committee for Public Justice, Malcolm X, Mississippi Burning, NAACP, the Reverend Jesse Jackson, and many others. Dates of coverage: 1920-1984.

FBI Library documents on on the internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent radical groups in the United States in the 1960s. Subjects include COINTELPRO, Abbie Hoffman, the United Farm Workers, Students for a Democratic Society, Kent State University, and Brown Berets. Dates of coverage: 1956-1971