Government Documents - History - American - University Libraries at Coastal Carolina University

Ask the Library

Proquest Congressional
Indexes and abstracts of congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws.
It includes the full text of Congressional reports and documents (1789-1969), Executive branch documents (1789-1942), bills and resolutions (1789-present), hearings (1824-), Congressional Record (1985-1997), CRS Reports (1916-present), Statutes at Large (1789-), bill text (1989-), the Serial Set (1789-), Federal Register (1980-) and the current U.S. Code and the Code of Federal Regulations.
HeinOnline Government Politics and Law
Full text government document and legal research database containing scholarly and law journals, the Congressional Record (1789 -present), U.S. statutory materials, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (HeinOnline)
The United States Congressional Serial Set (1817-1994) includes House and Senate documents, House and Senate Reports, and much more. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. Documents cover a wide variety of topics, including reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates
"A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation brings together online the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75."

Foreign Relations of the United States (1861-2000)
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. From the Office of the Historian.

Digital National Security Archive
This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.
History Vault
International Relations and Military Conflicts subollection
Office of Strategic Services State Department Intelligence and Research Reports I
De-classified reports on major areas of the world from 1941 to 1961, written by the OSS in conjunction with the State Department. Topics include WWII, communism, and economics.

Historical Statistical Abstracts 1878-2012
Tabular summary of statistics on the educational, social, political, and economic organization of the United States since 1878. This is a good starting point for finding historical statistical information in the US.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial -1970
"statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political, and geographic development during periods from 1610 to 1970."
International Historical Statistics
Statistical data on key economic and social indicators between 1750-2010. Includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceana.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers
Provides full-text access to the Parliamentary Papers. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Coverage 1801-2005.