University Libraries: History of Costume and Fashion: Articles

Ask the Library

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
Indexes the major journals on costume, fashion, and dress history.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival database of primary source material that provides a rich collection of digitized magazines covering the film, television, music, and theater industries. Offers a unique historical perspective on the business and creative aspects of entertainment, featuring trade publications, fan magazines, and scholarly journals.
Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects from fine art to decorative and commercial art.
Art & Architecture Archive (1860-2015)
Art and Architecture Archive is a major research resource comprising the digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century.
JSTOR
Full-text articles and images from journals, books, and primary sources, good source for older articles on fashion, costume, and history.
Project Muse
Includes journals focused on theory related to fashion and dress history.

Clothing and Textiles Research Journal
Full text of the official journal of the International Textile and Apparel Association: the Global Organization of Textile and Apparel Scholars.
Costume
Indexing to the journal of the Costume Society of Great Britain.
Fashion Theory
Interdisciplinary focus on fashion, dress and culture.
Journal of Design History
Covers design history of crafts and applied arts
Textile History
Concerned with the history of textiles in all their aspects: economic, social, and technological
Winterthur Portfolio
Focus is on the history of American art and artifacts. Earlier issues are in JSTOR.

New York Times, Historical, 1851-2020
Full text of the newspaper from 1851-2017.
New York Times, Late Edition (Eastern), 1980-current
Full text of the NYT from 1980 through today.
Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Full text coverage of the newspaper from 1785-1985.