1800-1859 - History - American Military History - University Libraries at Coastal Carolina University

Ask the Library

Americas Historical Newspapers

American newspapers from 1690 to 1876. Search by presidential era or periods in American history.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Searchable content of American historic newspapers from 1777-1963, as well as U.S. Newspaper Directory for finding information about American newspapers published between 1690-current.
Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-1985

Full text coverage of the newspaper from 1785-1985.

Naval documents related to the United States wars with the Barbary powers .
6 volume compilation of official naval papers relating the Barbary Wars.
American State Papers, Documents, Legislative and Executive of the Congress of the United States, Foreign Relations
Official documents of Congress relating to the Barbary conflict.
The Barbary Wars at the Clements
Online library exhibition with background and links to primary sources. Excellent list of published captivity narratives.

War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas

Letters of marque and letters regarding enemy aliens; passenger lists of vessels; correspondence regarding passports; agreements for the exchange of prisoners of war; miscellaneous correspondence.

A Guide to the War of 1812
Library of Congress links to primary sources in their collections including broadsides, papers of Jefferson and Madison, Congressional debates, and prints.
War of 1812
Digital editions of primary source documents relating to the War of 1812 from the Lilly Library. Includes books, pamphlets, manuscripts, broadsides, letters, receipts, diaries, prints, etc.

A Guide to the Mexican War
Library of Congress primary sources including Congressional debates, memoirs, proclamations, broadsides, and editorials/articles from contemporaneous publications.

American Memory Project at the Library of Congress: Primary source materials organized by subject/topic from the collections of the Library of Congress

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: Provides Statutes, Acts and Congressional Discussions from 1774-1875.