1898-1920 - History - American Military History - University Libraries at Coastal Carolina University

Ask the Library

World War I Primary Source materials

First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
The First World War portal showcases a wealth of primary source material such as personal collections, military files, artwork and audio-visual files relating to World War I, the Great War. Modules include Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, Visual Perspectives, and Narratives.

World War I Materials
Online books and materials from the U.S. Army Center for Military History.
World War I Document Archive
"This archive of primary documents from World War I has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). The archive is international in focus and intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
World War I: Trenches on the Web
Site includes "Trenches on the Web", "Doughboy Center" and "Roads to the Great War."
Guide to World War I Materials
"The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material related to World War I, including photographs, documents, newspapers, films, sheet music, and sound recordings."
Hathi Trust
E-text of books, many are full-text with no restrictions. Excellent source for books published after conflicts prior to 1950. Largest collection is pre-1923. Search by topic or keyword to locate books. Also includes government reports.

Primary Newspaper Sources

New York Times, Historical, 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
Full text of the newspaper from 1851-2017.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable content of American historic newspapers from 1777-1963, as well as U.S. Newspaper Directory for finding information about American newspapers published between 1690-current.
Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the newspaper from 1785-1985.
Daily Mail Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and images from the Daily Mail (1896-2004) and the Daily Mail Atlantic edition (1923-1931).
Illustrated London News This link opens in a new window
Online access to the entire run of the ILN. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full color. Articles and captions are full-text searchable. Dates of coverage: 1842-2003.

Spanish American War

A Guide to the Spanish-American War
Library of Congress primary sources including films, photographs, memoirs, and magazine articles.
The War with Spain
Online books, reports, and other archival materials from the U.S. Army Center of Military History.
Selected Documents of the Spanish American War
Online documents from the U.S. Navy in the Spanish American War.
Foreign Relations of the United States (1861-2000)
Foreign Relations Series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.from Lincoln to Clinton.

Veteran's History Project

The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans. .

The Project collects first-hand accounts of
U.S. Veterans from the following wars:

World War I (1914-1920)
World War II (1939-1946)
Korean War (1950-1955)
Vietnam War (1961-1975)
Persian Gulf War (1990-1995)
Afghanistan and Iraq conflicts (2001-present)

Source: Library of Congress, Veteran's History Project,