University Libraries: HIST 338: War and Memory: Haitian Revolution

Ask the Library

When searching: use all of the alternative spellings and names for Haiti: St. Domingo, St. Domingue, Hayti, and Haiti.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Parts 1 - 4
Primary source material, limit to English works. Contemporary works, reactions to events, and memories of the revolution.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

Legal materials on slavery in the United States including US statutes passed by colonies and states on slavery, federal statutes dealing with slavery, and state and federal cases on slavery. There are also books and pamphlets about slavery, abolition, and the law pre 1920. Includes some non-US English language sources. From HeinOnline.

Slavery and Abolition in the U.S.: Select Publications of the 1800's
The publications reflect both sides of the debate and include speeches, pamphlets, books, legal proceedings, sermons, and personal accounts.
Haiti Collection: John Carter Brown Library
Digitized rare books, maps and newspapers tell the story of the founding of the French colony of Saint Domingue (once the most lucrative colony in the Americas), its demise through the Haitian Revolution (the world's only successful slave revolution) and the founding of Haiti in its place.

The Other Revolution: Haiti 1794-1804
Images and original text tell the story of the Haitian Revolution.
La Gazette Royale d'Hayti
Haiti’s official newspapers and its yearly almanacs. Remnants of a robust culture of print, these rare documents, collected from archives across Europe, the Caribbean, and North America, are presented together and in full text for the first time. Most provide English transcriptions of the original French.
Marronnage in Saint-Domingue (Haïti)
The history of marronage features prominently in the history of Haiti, the first black Republic. Today it continues to raise very sensitive questions of memory. Nevertheless, the sources of this history remain little known and often inaccessible to the general public. This is the case of fugitive slave notices published in the colony’s principal newspaper, Affiches américaines, between 1766 and 1790.

Hathi Trust
E-text of books from 80 partner libraries. Use advanced search. St Domingue or Haiti and limit by date of publication and language English for a comprehensive listing of full text book, pamphlets, etc.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

More than 180,000 English-language and foreign-language books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects from the United Kingdom and the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.

Evans Early American Imprint Collection
Nearly 5000 digitized texts from the 17th and 18th century published in America and covering a wide variety of topics.

To search for contemporary newspaper and magazine accounts, search for all spelling and name variations: St. Domingo, St. Domingue, Hayti, and Haiti.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 1-5: 1684-1912

Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals, documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the early 1910's.
American Periodicals
American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century
British Periodicals

British Periodicals includes facsimile page images and full text for a broad range of British periodicals published between the 17th and the 20th centuries.

Proquest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional indexes and abstracts Congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws. It includes the full text of Congressional reports and documents (1789-1969), Executive branch documents (1789-1942), bills and resolutions (1789-present), hearings (1824-).

Founders Online
George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 183,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

Provides full-text access to the Parliamentary Papers. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Coverage 1801-2005.