University Libraries: COMM 500: Foundations of Comm Discipline: Books

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by Stephen W. Littlejohn (Editor); Karen A. Foss (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412959377
Click the "Table of Contents" tab to browse entries in this online encyclopedia, or keyword search for the theory you are interested in finding more information about. You will find background information on many communication theories in this book.
The Handbook of Media and Mass Communication Theory by Robert S. Fortner (Editor); P. Mark Fackler (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118769973
Publication Date: 2014-03-10
Click the table of contents to browse for theories covered in this book. This book includes both overviews of specific theories and case studies.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by Mike Allen (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781483381435
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
"...In addition to expected entries covering the basics of theories and methods traditionally used in communication research, other entries discuss important trends influencing the future of that research..."

Ask the Library

Request Books for Pickup

University Libraries' print book collection is stored off-site. Here's how to request books from the online catalog so you can pick them up at the circulation desk.

University Libraries Catalog

Searching for Books and Videos in the Online Catalog

This video will demonstrate how to search for books and videos in the library's online catalog:

Get Books from other Libraries

Services available to Coastal Carolina University students, faculty and staff

Request books from other SC Libraries and have them sent to University Libraries for you to check out. Items arrive by courier in just a few days.

Search a global network of libraries for books, audio/visuals, digitized items, serials, web links and more.

Request a book, article or other material and another library will send it to University Libraries for you to check out.

Find dissertations and theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and masters' theses from most North American graduate schools as well as some European universities. It provides full text for most indexed dissertations from 1990 to present.