University Libraries: WGST 498: Women's and Gender Studies Capstone Seminar: Other Library Resources

Archival Library Databases on Women's and Gender Studies Topics

The library subscribes to several databases that are collections of historical primary sources and other materials related to the history of topics in Women and Gender Studies. These databases do not usually include scholarly, peer-reviewed journals but often include other periodicals (newspapers, popular magazines), books, or primary source documents (things like letters, diaries, pamphlets, etc.).

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture This link opens in a new window
This fully-searchable collection has primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Contents include books, articles, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the twentieth century to the present day. The collection includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Gerritsen Collection - Womens History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
Digital images of books, pamphlets, and periodicals covering the history of women, rights, suffrage, and feminism from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Collection of diaries and letters from more than 1,000 individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, as well as biographical sketeches of people represented in this database.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 This link opens in a new window
As told through women's voices, thsi collection has primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, reviews, pamphlets, personal narratives, advice literature, training guides, interviews and teaching tools covering the themes of conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality.