Newspapers - History - World War I - University Libraries at Coastal Carolina University

Online Newspapers that cover the 1910's and 1920's

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable content of American historic newspapers from 1777-1963, as well as U.S. Newspaper Directory for finding information about American newspapers published between 1690-current.
New York Times, Historical, 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
Full text of the newspaper from 1851-2017.
Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the newspaper from 1785-1985.
Daily Mail Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and images from the Daily Mail (1896-2004) and the Daily Mail Atlantic edition (1923-1931).
Illustrated London News This link opens in a new window
Online access to the entire run of the ILN. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full color. Articles and captions are full-text searchable. Dates of coverage: 1842-2003.

British Library Newspaper Archive
Searching is free, viewing full pages requires payment. Includes newspapers from 1910's and 1920's.
The Gazette: Official Public Record
The Gazette covers 1665 to current, providing official notice of news and despatches for Great Britain.

Stars and Stripes (official U.S. Forces Newspaper
"When The Stars and Stripes began publication, American forces were dispersed throughout the Western Front, often mixed at the unit level with British, French, and Italian forces. The newspaper's mission was to provide these scattered troops with a sense of unity and an understanding of their part in the overall war effort."

State (The) Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text from Columbia's newspaper from 1891-present.
Post and Courier Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text from the Charleston Post and Courier from 1873 to present.