Regimental War Diaries, Histories, & Gov Docs - History - World War I - University Libraries at Coastal Carolina University

Regimental War Diaries and Campaign Histories: Official

War Unit Diaries
Official war unit diaries from the British National Archives.
Australian Imperial War Force Unit Diaries, 1914-18
New Zealand in the First World War
Corps histories and other digital sources on New Zealand's military participation in World War I.
Australian War Memorial
Search the collection for materials related to Australia's participation in the Great War..
United States Army in World War, 1917-1919
Digitized 17 volume edition of the official history of the US Army in World War .
History of the Great War Based on Official Documents
This site contains a list of all the titles and volumes in the set. The majority of titles are not available online, but can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Canadian Expeditionary Force, 1914-19
Official history of the Canadian Army in World War I. Downloads as a large pdf.
Canada: War Diaries of the First World War
Digital copies of the official war diaries for the Canadian Armed Forces.
British documents on the origins of the war, 1898-1914/ Edited by G.P. Gooch and Harold Temperley.
11 v. Contents v. 1. The end of British isolation.--v. 2. The Anglo-Japanese alliance and the Franco-British entente.--v. 3. The testing of the entente, 1904-6.--v. 4. The Anglo-Russian rapprochement, 1903-7.--v. 5. The Near East; the Macedonian problem and the annexation of Bosnia, 1903-9.--v. 6. Anglo-German tension; armaments and negotiation, 1907-12.--v. 7. The Agadir crisis.--v. 8. Arbitration, neutrality and security.--v. 9. The Balkan wars. pt. 1. The prelude; t
Historical files of the American Expeditionary Force, North Russia, 1918-1919
Digitized microfilm records of the American and English Force sent to Russia in WWI in 1918-19 as the Russian Revolution was taking place.

Government Documents

Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts of congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws.
It includes the full text of Congressional reports and documents (1789-1969), Executive branch documents (1789-1942), bills and resolutions (1789-present), hearings (1824-), Congressional Record (1985-1997), CRS Reports (1916-present), Statutes at Large (1789-), bill text (1989-), the Serial Set (1789-), Federal Register (1980-) and the current U.S. Code and the Code of Federal Regulations.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
The United States Congressional Serial Set (1817-1994) includes House and Senate documents, House and Senate Reports, and much more. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. Documents cover a wide variety of topics, including reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations.
Documents on British Policy Overseas (1898-1990) This link opens in a new window
Composed of tens of thousands of documents selected by Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office historians, this collection covers the tensions, motivations, diplomacy, and relationships that shaped Europe and the world in the 20th century.

Regimental Histories: unofficial histories

Regimental Histories: Great Britain
44 digitized histories located in a variety of library and archive collections, as well as Project Gutenberg and Hathi Trust.
Regimental Histories -United States
Links to digitized histories, many at Hathi Trust.
Operation War Diary at U.K. National Archives
Crowdsourcing project to provide information on individuals mentioned in the official war diaries