University Libraries: ARTH 308: History of Photography: Articles

Select Art Journals

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects from fine art to decorative and commercial art.
Art & Architecture Archive (1860-2015) This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture Archive is a major research resource comprising the digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes art publications covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Dates of coverage: 1929-1984.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and images from journals, books, and primary sources, coverage of art and photography..
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals covering the humanities and social sciences.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Full text online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art. Access is limited to 3 users at a time.

Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Information on people, processes, and prints in the field of photography from the beginning to today.
CAMEO: Conservation & Art Material Encyclopedia Online
"CAMEO is a searchable information center developed by the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. The MATERIALS database contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials."