University Libraries: ARTH 308: History of Photography: Visual Materials

ARTSTOR

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-resolution art and architecture images for non-commercial educational use. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture.

Art Institute of Chicago: Photography and Media
Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection as well as books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
Europeana Art: Photography
Discover inspiring images and the history of photography through the collections of European cultural heritage institutions.
George Eastman Museum: Photography
The photography collection at the George Eastman Museum comprises more than 400,000 photographic objects dating from the introduction of the medium in 1839 through to the present day.
J. Paul Getty Museum: Photographs
Getty is a cultural and philanthropic institution dedicated to the presentation, conservation, and interpretation of the world’s artistic legacy.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
LoC's Digital Collections include thousands of images in over 400 collections covering a wide variety of topics, including a Prints & Photographs Online Catalog.
MoMA: The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Museum of Modern Art began collecting modern photography in 1930 and established the department in 1940. As diverse as photography itself, the collection includes work not only by artists, but also by journalists, scientists, entrepreneurs, and amateurs.
NYPL Digital Collections: Photography
This collection includes almost one million items, including books, videos, maps, manuscripts, illustrations, photographs, and more.

Unsplash
Unsplash was born from the difficulties people had in finding great, usable imagery. Today, Unsplash is a platform fueled by a community that has generously gifted hundreds of thousands of their own photos.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips).