Skip to Main Content

Theatre

Ask the Library

Plays in Kimbel Library

Search Plays and Drama or Plays and Theat* in the Library Catalog or search by specific play title or author.

To find out how many characters are in a play, go to:

Dramatists Play Service and select the number of men and women and size of total cast and begin searching.

Doollee and select number of male parts and then female parts.

Twentieth Century North American Drama
Collection contains plays, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays

Play Sources

Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
Very useful for identifying and locating plays available through Dramatists. Good information on new plays.
Samuel French, Inc. The House of Plays & Musical Plays for Over 175 Years
Licensing for play performances.

Historical Plays

Inter-Play: An Online Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies and Periodicals
Searches for plays located in anthologies, collections and periodicals. Search by author, last name first or by title.
The New Deal Stage
Site houses primary sources regarding stage productions developed and preformed during the New Deal era. Hosted by the Library of Congress

Locating Pre-1980 Plays in Print Collections

Play Index
Offsite Storage Facility ; PN6112 .P56 - Lists plays by author, title and subject. Provides collection information. Good source to use if you know the title but not the author. Each volume covers 5 years. 1949-1987.

University Libraries Catalog

Last Updated: Sep 3, 2024 11:38 AM
URL: https://libraries.coastal.edu/Theatre

Subjects: Theatre

Tags: theater, theatre