University Libraries: Victorian Studies: Digital Archives

Ask the Library

NINES

Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online

NINES provides access to digital scholarly projects that are peer reviewed for content and structure. It is a great place to locate online archives, texts, letters etc. that focus on the long nineteenth century. Federated searching allows users to search multiple scholarly projects with one search.

Digital archives

Internet Library of Early Journals
Contains full text of six prominent Victorian journals.
Keepsakes for 1829
The Keepsake, a magazine popular with fashionable women as gifts, was published from 1827-1857.
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition
Full-runs of five Nineteenth-Century periodicals (Monthly Repository, Unitarian Chronicle, Northern Star, Leader, English Woman's Journal, Tomahawk) and a decade of the Publishers' Circular.
The Victorian Women's Writers Project
Provides full text access to the works of women writers of the Victorian period
Victorian Social History
Contains articles about (some written during) the Victorian period on issues such as life, labor, race, class, gender, education, leisure activities, children, cities, towns, countryside, and economics.
Hathi Trust
E-text of books, many are full-text with no restrictions. Excellent source for books published after conflicts prior to 1950. Largest collection is pre-1923. Search by topic or keyword to locate books. Also includes government reports.

ARTSTOR

Artstor on JSTOR
High-resolution art and architecture images for non-commercial educational use. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture.

Art and Design

NYPL Digital Gallery: Ornament and Pattern, Pre-Victorian to Art Deco
"Several thousand images from nearly 100 volumes on decorative art and surface ornament, mainly portfolios of plates, pattern books, and scrapbook compilations."