Primary Sources are materials in any format that provide first-hand information on an event, place, or person.
| First Person Eyewitness Accounts |
Diaries, Correspondence, Memoirs, Photos, Films Legal Documents, Government Reports Data, Statistics, Census, Maps |
|
Formats: actual artifact or facsimile copy (microfilm, print, or digital) |
Digital Archives: from Museums, Libraries, Research Centers. Databases of Primary Source Materials. (CCU users only) Online Newspaper Collections Print or Microfilm Collections through the online catalog |
This guide is a starting point and provides you with access to selected digital resources that contain primary documents and provides listings of some of the print and microfilm primary resources available at University Libraries.
Additional digital resources on your topic maybe available on the web.
Effective searches usually include the topic or time period and words like: archive (s), e-text, primary, diary, letters, manuscripts, memoir, etc.
Secondary Sources interpret events after they have happened. Journal articles, research reports, and books are examples of secondary sources.
Secondary Sources can be found in journal databases:
Provides full-text and images of over 1000 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in a variety of disciplines. Has best coverage in older volumes of journals.
Books can be found through University Libraries' catalog, PASCAL, or WorldCAT.
© Coastal Carolina University | P.O. Box 261954, Conway, SC 29528-6054 USA | +1 843-347-3161