Music: Resources in the Library

IMSLP Petrucci Music Library contains 72,348 works · 254,934 scores · 26,279 recordings · 7,610 composers · 227 performers in the public domain.

Features a selection of representative pieces for each decade between 1850 and 1920. Also included is a chronology of major events in politics and...

This collection from Johns Hopkins University contains more than 29,000 pieces of popular American music from 1780 to 1960.

Consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885. Included are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music,...

This sheet music collection from the Library of Congress consists of approximately 9,000 items published from 1800 to 1922.

"The Center's collections document the diversity of American music. We take as a starting point the multicultural and international origins of American society, and archive materials that document those traditions and the ways in which they contributed to the formation of national musical cultures. From the 18th to early 20th century music was often disseminated in printed form: sheet music, songsters, broadsides, instrumental instruction books, song anthologies, and the like. After 1920, recorded sound gained dominance. The Center's collections reflect these forms of music commodification."

"The Maine Music Box collection has more than 22,000 musical works, consisting primarily of sheet music. It includes digitized cover art and scores, music manuscripts, and a small number of accompanying mp3 synthesized sound files. "

The Consortium provides online access to over 1,000 of the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials. Researchers can search or browse materials, access metadata about each item, and view digital images of the treasure via each custodial archive's Web site.

The image, from the Library of Congress, is of Die Forelle by Franz Schubert.