University Libraries: THEA 333: Dramaturgy: Start Here

Ask the Library

She/They

Email Me

Contact:

Thompson Room 119K

Subjects: Art, Environment and Sustainability, Graphic Design, Honors, Interdisciplinary Studies, Theatre, Womens and Gender Studies

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexed journal articles, books, and dissertations on theatre and performance.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. Includes the core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and images of over 1000 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in a variety of disciplines. Has best coverage in older volumes of journals.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals covering the humanities and social sciences.

OneSearch
Use Articles tab to search for play reviews in magazines, journals, and newspapers.

New York Times, Historical, 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
Search for Play reviews by name of play and limiting to year of production.
New York Times, Late Edition (Eastern), 1980-current This link opens in a new window
Search for Play reviews by name of play and limiting to year of production.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
International, U.S., South Carolina, and regional newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos.
US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of national leading newspapers, including The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post, and other US newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the newspaper from 1785-1985.

Music, Theater, & Dance Performing Arts Digital Library
The site displays the diversity of American performing arts through the Library of Congress's collections of music, audio recordings, films, photographs, maps, and other materials. unusual materials in the Library's collections.
Cambridge History of American Theatre
Three volume overview of American Theatre from the 1870's to the end of the Twentieth Century.
Cambridge History of British Theatre
Three volume set traces British Theater from the 1600's to the 2000's.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of thousands of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers from every age, nation, and language. Dates of coverage: antiquity-current.