University Libraries: THEA 333: Dramaturgy: Images

Ask the Library

ARTStor

Create a free account to save images, download, and print.

Search Hints:

Advanced Search: type in garment name (corset, dress, shoe) in search box, then select Fashion, Costume, and Jewelry under Classification drop down menu on left. Next, select your date range (use CE), ex. 1800-1820. Press the Search button to retrieve images of your garment by date.

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-resolution fashion images. Limit by Fashion to focus searches.

Berg Fashion Library

Thousands of images from museums worldwide, e-books, and the complete Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion. This is the database for the history of dress and fashion. Create a free account to save images.

Search Hints

In the Browse box, type in the century or dates and the name of the garment. Select images to see garments that fit your criteria.
In Advanced search, select item title and type in the name of the garment. in the results, select images, then on the left, select the date range for the garment you want.

Fairchild Books Library This link opens in a new window
Coverage of world fashion from reference titles, journal articles, ebooks, and images. Interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion.

Images

Women's Magazine Archive I This link opens in a new window
Consumer interest magazines focused on women and domestic issues from the 19th century through 2005. Includes titles like Good Housekeeping, Cosmopolitan, Seventeen, Essence, and Ladies Home Journal.

Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Extensive digital collections on topics, people, and events in American history from the wide-range of Library of Congress primary resources.
NYPL Digital Gallery: Ornament and Pattern, Pre-Victorian to Art Deco
"Several thousand images from nearly 100 volumes on decorative art and surface ornament, mainly portfolios of plates, pattern books, and scrapbook compilations."
Life Magazine
Complete run of all issues from the 1930's to 1970's of the prominent American newsmagazine. Excellent source for photographic images that show what daily life looked like.
Ad*Access
"Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955. "
CAMIO
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.