. Goal 3: Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages
image from sdgs.un.gov
Contains 1800+ streaming videos from independent, social issue, and environmental film producers.
Full-length, streaming educational videos on a wide variety of topics.
Documentary streaming film database covering all academic subjects, from Alexander Street Press.
Consumer-oriented information on a variety of health topics including medicine, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and wellness. Dates of coverage: 1984-current.
CINAHL Ultimate provides full-text of nursing & allied health journals.
The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health
by
The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health, Second Edition is the authoritative A-to-Z guide to all aspects of nutrition and maintaining a healthy diet. Thoroughly updated, it examines the latest advances in the field, including revised government guidelines and requirements - like the new folate enrichment laws - and new research - for example, the discovery of a link between colon cancer and preserved meats but not fresh meats. Concise and extensively cross-referenced, It is the perfect one-stop guide to the often-confusing mass of nutritional information available today. More than 2,500 entries provide the essential information readers will want to know about nutrition and good health. Covering food ingredients such as vitamins, minerals, fats, carbohydrates, and proteins; the health benefits and dangers of foods; diseases and health disorders related to nutrition; processed foods and their side effects; the link between certain foods and cancer; food allergies; eating disorders; and much more, this edition is comprised of approximately 30 percent of new material, including several new appendixes.
SDG3 - Good Health and Wellbeing
by
Sustainable Development Goal 3 (SDG3) supplements the 2030 UN Agenda by inspiring ideologies and implementation concerning global health and wellbeing. This book offers insider-view analysis and unique access points into SDG3 implications, community-based responses and innovative proposals, including considerations of Earth as a key stakeholder in sustainability conversations. Written by leading experts in the field, the book presents essays and case studies on sustainability frameworks of Canadian First Nations, cultural groundworks of Aboriginal Australians, HIV/AIDS in Ethiopia, IT-health data analytics in Hong Kong, health-promoting schools in Scotland, Laos, Hong Kong, Australia, and WHO projects in Europe and the Pacific. The book serves as a representative and provocative resource for those wishing to further explore the scope of research, developments, bottom-up interventions and far-reaching visions relating to SDG3.
Environmental Health
by
The bestselling environmental health text, with all new coverage of key topics Environmental Health: From Global to Local is a comprehensive introduction to the subject, and a contemporary, authoritative text for students of public health, environmental health, preventive medicine, community health, and environmental studies. Edited by the former director of the CDC's National Center for Environmental Health and current dean of the School of Public Health at the University of Washington, this book provides a multi-faceted view of the topic, and how it affects different regions, populations, and professions. In addition to traditional environmental health topics--air, water, chemical toxins, radiation, pest control--it offers remarkably broad, cross-cutting coverage, including such topics as building design, urban and regional planning, energy, transportation, disaster preparedness and response, climate change, and environmental psychology. This new third edition maintains its strong grounding in evidence, and has been revised for greater readability, with new coverage of ecology, sustainability, and vulnerable populations, with integrated coverage of policy issues, and with a more global focus. Environmental health is a critically important topic, and it reaches into fields as diverse as communications, technology, regulatory policy, medicine, and law. This book is a well-rounded guide that addresses the field's most pressing concerns, with a practical bent that takes the material beyond theory. Explore the cross-discipline manifestations of environmental health Understand the global ramifications of population and climate change Learn how environmental issues affect health and well-being closer to home Discover how different fields incorporate environmental health perspectives The first law of ecology reminds is that 'everything is connected to everything else.' Each piece of the system affects the whole, and the whole must sustain us all for the long term. Environmental Health lays out the facts, makes the connections, and demonstrates the importance of these crucial issues to human health and well-being, both on a global scale, and in our homes, workplaces, and neighborhoods.
© Coastal Carolina University | P.O. Box 261954, Conway, SC 29528-6054 USA | +1 843-347-3161