Slavery and Abolition - History - US Civil War - University Libraries at Coastal Carolina University

Digital Resources

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Parts 1 - 4 This link opens in a new window
Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade. Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: The Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery: Part 4: Age of Emancipation
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Legal materials on slavery in the United States including US statutes passed by colonies and states on slavery, federal statutes dealing with slavery, and state and federal cases on slavery. There are also books and pamphlets about slavery, abolition, and the law pre 1920. Includes some non-US English language sources. From HeinOnline.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938
This collection contains first-person accounts of slavery and photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Work Projects Administration (WPA).
North American Slave Narratives
"North American Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries."
The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition
Yale site that contains primary documents covering from approximately 1692 to the 20th century. Topics vary around the central theme.
Slavery and Abolition in the U.S.: Select Publications of the 1800's
The publications reflect both sides of the debate and include speeches, pamphlets, books, legal proceedings, sermons, and personal accounts.
Slaves and the Courts 1740-1860
Trials, cases, arguments,and proceedings that relate to the prosecution and defense of slavery, covers 1772-1889.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database This link opens in a new window
Information on slaving voyages between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries in database form. Search using year, ship name, owner(s), itinerary, captain, and more. (1501 - 1866).