Over 5,000 images from the combined costume collections of the Detroit Historical Museums, Wayne State University, Henry Ford Museum and Meadow Brook Hall museum covering 1750 to present with a focus on the clothes of ordinary people.
Online exhibitions include motion picture and television costume design Oscar and Emmy award winners, quilts, Korean Dress, shoes and selected designers.
Online collection contains images of "aesthetically and historically significant "directional" clothing, accessories, textiles and visual materials, with emphasis on contemporary avant-garde fashion."
The Collection provides images of clothes worn by men, women and children from the 17th century to the present day. Search by themes focuses solely on costume, search by collection covers all the holdings of the Manchester City Art Gallery
Select English to proceed. Digital archive online contains 200 images. Focus is on Western Dress from the 18th to 21st century. Select English to view page navigation in English.
"Dress and Fashion: Design and ManufactureSeveral rare and unusual published resources of interest to students of western dress and fashion from the 19th to the early 20th-century. Includes historical surveys as well as manufacturers' booklets and sampl
Fashion drawings and sketches from FIT and NYPL collection that document how high fashion was translated to retail. "The collection consists of original, hand-colored and reproduced fashion drawings from André Studios, one of a small number of competing design studios that created fashion sketches to sell to clothing manufacturers in the United States and Canada on a weekly basis."
"Collection of more than 21,000 textiles and related objects represents five millennia and five continents, including cultures from the Middle East, Asia, Africa, and the indigenous peoples of the Americas. "
