University Libraries: CBAD 120: Introduction to the Global Culture of Business: Creating Your Business

Ask the Library

U.S. Small Business Administration
Provides information on starting a business, creating a business plan, managing a business, financing a business, and more.
AllBusiness
Provides information on starting and managing a business, including marketing, sales, industries, franchises, and more.
SCORE
Provides resources and workshops on starting a business, growing a business, management, marketing, and technology.
South Carolina Business One Stop
Provides free webinars, and information on obtaining licenses, permits, and registrations for starting a business in South Carolina.
NOLO How to Form an LLC in South Carolina
Includes legal and business information for creating an LLC in South Carolina.
New York Public Library Small Business Resource Center
Includes sample business plans and can introduce you to ways in which many public libraries can assist those starting small businesses.
Business Plans Handbook
A multi-volume collection of sample business plans, indexed by type of business.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on reference books, case studies, company profiles, and videos from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV. Business planning, product development, marketing and raising capital.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Information related to starting a company, operations management, sales, and growing or rescuing a business.

Your first deliverable asks you to develop a creative and realistic description of a company that you will use for the rest of the semester.

To find company profiles of companies that already exist, try one of the following library resources:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Click on the Company Information tab on the top of the database. Type in the company name into the search box. Click search. Click on the company title. Business Source Complete provides you with essential information such as line of business, financials, industry information, subsidiaries, products, and executives.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Enter the name of the public company you want to find information about in the Company Search box. Compile custom reports using this state-of-the-art database. Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company information available, with the latest in features and functions. Includes: US and international company data, annual reports, financial data, country profiles, company analysis, executive information, link to EDGAR and more.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
A premier legal database, Westlaw can be used to generate a report on a company. For guidance with running a company report, please see this 5-minute Youtube video: https://youtu.be/SgezlcTGJNI (copy and paste link into browser).
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Online library of reports offering actionable insights, comprehensive data, and in-depth analysis on thousands of global industries. Search by sector or by country.