For Faculty

Faculty can request the library purchase additional items for the collection including books, movies, periodicals, databases, and more. Simply contact your liaison librarian to make your request, or follow the instructions below. Our policy is to buy an electronic version whenever feasible.

Requesting books, films and other one-time purchases

• Please submit requests by completing the Materials Request Form.
• The library can acquire materials on a "rush" basis. Be aware that a rush order adds to the cost of the item; please request rush orders selectively. Once cataloged, the items will be held at the circulation desk and the requestor will be notified of availability by email.
• For further information about materials for your department or questions about requests, please consult with the library liaison for your department.

Requesting journals, databases and other subscriptions

• Subscriptions present an ongoing cost and are therefore considered in light of a continuing financial commitment for the library. Please submit requests for new subscriptions to Todd Rix, and include the following information:
  • Resource Name
  • Resource Provider
  • Primary User (undergraduates, graduate students, faculty, staff)
  • Courses Supported
  • Needed for Accreditation?
  • Any additional information that will help us evaluate the request
• The preferred format for journals is electronic. If you prefer print please state so in your request.

Requesting Textbooks

University Libraries seeks to be a good financial steward, both with our own budget as well as the finances of our students. As such, the University is using a course material delivery model via the Chanticleer Store called First Day Complete. Physical books will be provided on a rental basis and digital materials will be automatically loaded into Moodle for a set price per credit hour. All students are automatically enrolled in this program, but have the option to opt out each semester.   

Before requesting course materials for purchase via the library, please check Barnes and Noble’s textbook adoption platform to see if your course materials are already loaded in the system. Also note under “Affordability Solutions” that OER (open educational resources) and other low or no cost materials can be searched for and added to your courses from that portal.  

University Libraries works with faculty to provide streaming media for classroom use, both on and off campus. University Libraries purchases individual titles, availability and funding permitting, and also subscribes to multiple streaming video collections. Most videos in these collections have closed captions and/or transcripts and can be linked and embedded in Moodle. View the library's instructional videos to learn how to link and embed streaming videos in Moodle.

Faculty looking for specific titles that University Libraries does not own are encouraged to work with their library liaison to locate or purchase the video. A search of the library catalog and streaming video collections will determine if the library already owns a copy of the video, either on DVD or streaming format. If streaming format is required, University Libraries will make every attempt to purchase the title. However, if the library is unable to purchase the video, we recommend faculty direct students to alternative websites, such as YouTube or Netflix.

PASCAL Delivers is a free book delivery service which enables current CCU faculty to request delivery of physical books from other academic libraries across the state, when the desired books are not available from our collection and receive those books at their library in about 5 business days. You can search for books via OneSearch.  Once you are notified that your PASCAL book has arrived, you have 10 days to pick it up at the Circulation Desk in Thompson Library with your CINO card. The lending period for PASCAL books is 12 weeks and they may not be renewed. Please note that you are not able to have more than 25 PASCAL books checked out at the same time. 

Interlibrary Loan is a service provided by University Libraries to request books, journal articles, and other materials that are not in the University Libraries catalog or the PASCAL lending program. If the materials that you want are not available through our collection or the PASCAL lending program, complete an Interlibrary Loan Request Form. You may check the status of your requests by logging into your MyLibrary account. 
Once you are notified that your materials have arrived, you can check them out at the circulation desk in Thompson library with your CINO ID. When you request journal articles, we will secure an electronic copy of the article for you and post it online to your ILL account.