Digital Archives-KL - History - Primary Documents - University Libraries at Coastal Carolina University

Ask the Library

Primary Document Databases covering Multiple Time Periods

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 1-5: 1684-1912 This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals, documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the early 1910's.
British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new window
Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works written from the medieval period through the Victorian era.
Gerritsen Collection - Womens History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
Digital images of books, pamphlets, and periodicals covering the history of women, rights, suffrage, and feminism from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Collection of diaries and letters from more than 1,000 individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, as well as biographical sketeches of people represented in this database.
Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new window
Search Indian claims content by keyword, full text, docket number, and more. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission (a judicial panel for relations between the U.S. Government and Native American tribes), and related statutes and congressional publications from 1789-current.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database This link opens in a new window
Information on slaving voyages between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries in database form. Search using year, ship name, owner(s), itinerary, captain, and more. (1501 - 1866).

18th Century and earlier

Witchcraft in Europe and America This link opens in a new window
Collection of writings on the subject of witchcraft. Included are reproductions of fragile manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts and court records of the trials of witches. Dates of coverage: 1500-1930.
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window
This collection documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Source types include narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.

19th Century

History Vault This link opens in a new window
American Indians and the American West (1809-1971) subcollection
Collections focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries, such as the Indian Removal, Indian Wars, material from the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. Source types include digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries and more.
Women's Studies subcollection
Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990
Records of three important women’s rights organizations: National Woman’s Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women’s Action Alliance. Collection coverage 1880-1990.
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War subcollection
Records of antebellum Southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War.
American Politics and Society subcollection
Immigration Records of the INS (1880-1930)
Covers Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
More than 2,000 authors contribute approximately 100,000 pages that provide a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas This link opens in a new window
Letters of marque and letters regarding enemy aliens; passenger lists of vessels; correspondence regarding passports; agreements for the exchange of prisoners of war; miscellaneous correspondence.
War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824 This link opens in a new window
Letters of correspondence received by and sent to the War Department. Attachments include vouchers, financial statements, speeches to Indians, proceedings of conferences with Indians in Washington, licenses of traders, passports for travel in Indian country.
The Southern Literacy Messenger: Literature of the Old South This link opens in a new window
Shows how the topics of slavery and secession were presented in Southern intellectual and literary culture in the early stages of the Civil War. Dates of coverage: 1834-1864.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Parts 1 - 4 This link opens in a new window
Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade. Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: The Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery: Part 4: Age of Emancipation
Civil War in Words and Deeds This link opens in a new window
Diaries, memoirs, regimental histories, and other first-person accounts compiled in the postwar period and early 20th century, chronicling the highs and lows of army life. Dates of coverage: 1860-1865.
Gilded Age This link opens in a new window
Collection of text, photographs, songs, and otherprimary source materials covering the topics of immigration and migration, racism and civil rights, labor and industry, women and universal suffrage, American Indians, and the environment.
Women's Magazine Archive I This link opens in a new window
Consumer interest magazines focused on women and domestic issues from the 19th century through 2005. Includes titles like Good Housekeeping, Cosmopolitan, Seventeen, Essence, and Ladies Home Journal.

20th Century

History Vault This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies subcollection
Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990
Records of three important women’s rights organizations: National Woman’s Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women’s Action Alliance. Collection coverage 1880-1990.
Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps
Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps.
Workers, Labor Unions, Progressives, and Radicals subcollection
Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records
Documents the American workers and labor unions in the 20th century, with a special emphasis on the interaction between workers and the U.S. federal government. 1900-1960.
American Politics and Society subcollection
New Deal/World War II
Included are: FBI Reports of the Franklin D. Roosevelt White House; Civilian Conservation Corps Press Releases; Records of the Committee on Economic Security; Department of Treasury records; and a special set of documentary records on the Roosevelt Presidency covering 50 important episodes and themes of the Roosevelt presidency.
American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate (1960-1975)
Documents from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies as well as records from federal agencies. Issues span women's rights, environmental issues, urban renewal, rural development, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration, international trade, War on Poverty, and the Watergate trials.
International Relations and Military Conflicts subcollection
Office of Strategic Services State Department Intelligence and Research Reports I
De-classified reports on major areas of the world from 1941 to 1961, written by the OSS in conjunction with the State Department. Topics include WWII, communism, and economics.
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle subcollection
Collection contains the NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
More than 2,000 authors contribute approximately 100,000 pages that provide a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
Women's Magazine Archive I This link opens in a new window
Consumer interest magazines focused on women and domestic issues from the 19th century through 2005. Includes titles like Good Housekeeping, Cosmopolitan, Seventeen, Essence, and Ladies Home Journal.
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 This link opens in a new window
Documents originated by the Justice Department and Federal Bureau of Investigation on operatives investigating politically suspect figures and organizations. Topics include A. Philip Randolph, the Black Panther Party of NC, the Committee for Public Justice, Malcolm X, Mississippi Burning, NAACP, the Reverend Jesse Jackson, and many others. Dates of coverage: 1920-1984.
Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project This link opens in a new window
Archives of the Federal Writers Project (FWP), a program of the Works Projects Administration (WPA). Publications from all participating states, including city guides, social-ethnic studies, original poems and plays, and many others. Dates of coverage: 1933-1943.
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 This link opens in a new window
FBI Library documents on civil rights activists, the Freedom Riders, who rode interstate buses into the segregated South to test the United States Supreme Court decision in Boynton v. Virginia, which outlawed racial segregation in the restaurants and waiting rooms in terminals serving buses that crossed state lines.
JFK and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963 This link opens in a new window
Insights into President John F. Kennedy's views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. Dates of coverage: 1958-1964.
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s This link opens in a new window
FBI Library documents on on the internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent radical groups in the United States in the 1960s. Subjects include COINTELPRO, Abbie Hoffman, the United Farm Workers, Students for a Democratic Society, Kent State University, and Brown Berets. Dates of coverage: 1956-1971

John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection (NARA)
Records from the National Archives and Records Administration, organized by contributing government agency. Part of the Hein Online database.

Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President's Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974 This link opens in a new window
The confidential and subject special files of President Richard M. Nixon. Dates of coverage: 1969-1974.
Records of the Persian Gulf War This link opens in a new window
Materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990. Dates of coverage: 1990-1991.