Indian Wars 1700-1880's - History - American Military History - University Libraries at Coastal Carolina University

Ask the Library

Americas Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
American newspapers from 1690 to 1876. Search by presidential era or periods in American history.
New York Times, Historical, 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
Full text of the newspaper from 1851-2017.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable content of American historic newspapers from 1777-1963, as well as U.S. Newspaper Directory for finding information about American newspapers published between 1690-current.
Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the newspaper from 1785-1985.
Illustrated London News This link opens in a new window
Online access to the entire run of the ILN. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full color. Articles and captions are full-text searchable. Dates of coverage: 1842-2003.

Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842
The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.
Papers of the War Department 1784-1800
Between 1784 and 1800, the War Department was responsible for Indian affairs, veteran affairs, naval affairs (until 1798), as well as militia and army matters.

War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824 This link opens in a new window
Letters of correspondence received by and sent to the War Department. Attachments include vouchers, financial statements, speeches to Indians, proceedings of conferences with Indians in Washington, licenses of traders, passports for travel in Indian country.
History Vault This link opens in a new window
American Indians and the American West (1809-1971)
Collections focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries, such as the Indian Removal, Indian Wars, material from the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. Source types include digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries and more.

Hathi Trust
E-text of books, many are full-text with no restrictions. Excellent source for books published after conflicts prior to 1950. Largest collection is pre-1923. Search by topic or keyword to locate books. Also includes government reports.

American State Papers
"contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838". Search under "Indian Affairs"
Statutes at Large 1789-1875
All laws, statutes and treaties enacted by Congress. Look under "Indian Affairs" in the index.