1990-present - History - American Military History - University Libraries at Coastal Carolina University

Ask the Library

Records of the Persian Gulf War This link opens in a new window
Materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990. Dates of coverage: 1990-1991.

Operation Desert Storm : Ten Years Later
National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 39 with 16 declassified documents. From the National Security Archive at GWU.
List of Gulf War/War on Terrorism Oral Histories
Oral histories with women veterans of the Gulf War.

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Consists of nearly 50 themed collections of more than 650,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions. Also includes collections on Afghanistan, Chile, China, Colombia, El Salvador, Iran, Japan, Korea, Nicaragua, Peru, the Philippines, South Africa, and the Soviet Union.

Iraq War 2003: Web Archive
" Included in the web archive are U.S. government and foreign government sites as well as sites of public policy and political advocacy groups, educational organizations, religious organizations, support groups for military personnel, anti-war groups, plus some sites for children, and selected news sources."
Blog: News from Baghdad
c.2004-2005. Personal views of life in a platoon.
Blog: Iraq Calling
c. 2004-2005. Medical officer.
Blog: Letters from Baghdad
c. 2004-07. War and post-war posts.
Blog:OIF
c. 2003-2008. Daily military life
War Diaries: Iraq and Afghanistan
The leaked "collection of internal U.S. military logs" of the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Consists of nearly 50 themed collections of more than 650,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions. Also includes collections on Afghanistan, Chile, China, Colombia, El Salvador, Iran, Japan, Korea, Nicaragua, Peru, the Philippines, South Africa, and the Soviet Union.

The Sandbox
Life in Afghanistan and Iraq through the eyes of the troops/.
Afghanistan
links to 25 sites with primary materials from government and ngo sources.

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Consists of nearly 50 themed collections of more than 650,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions. Also includes collections on Afghanistan, Chile, China, Colombia, El Salvador, Iran, Japan, Korea, Nicaragua, Peru, the Philippines, South Africa, and the Soviet Union.

U.S. DOD American Forces Press Service
Press releases for all branches of the armed forces.
U.S. Army Center for Military History
Army published materials.

US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of national leading newspapers, including The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post, and other US newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
New York Times, Late Edition (Eastern), 1980-current This link opens in a new window
Full text of the NYT from 1980 through today.
Daily Mail Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and images from the Daily Mail (1896-2004) and the Daily Mail Atlantic edition (1923-1931).
Illustrated London News This link opens in a new window
Online access to the entire run of the ILN. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full color. Articles and captions are full-text searchable. Dates of coverage: 1842-2003.